No replies to this topic

#1 ExtraMSG

ExtraMSG
  • Admin
  • 18,350 posts
  • Interests:Me like food.

Posted 17 April 2006 - 12:32 PM

Bio

I started my career in grain fermentology in 1987, when I was a freshman at UCSC. I somehow talked my way into the head baking position at a small old school bakery making everything from sourdough and challah breads to puff pastry and cookies. The earthquake of 1989 took down the bakery; however I was still curious about the science behind grain fermentation, so I started a new path, working in seven different breweries throughout the Bay Area until 1998.

My interest in going back to bread baking was spurred by an article on Chad Robertson, who had just opened up a small brick oven bakery in Pointe Reyes, CA (just north of S.F.). The idea of returning to crafting the bread with just two hands and some simple fuel was both attractive as well as a good challenge, so when we moved to Portland in 2000, I took the plunge and started working on building Olive Mountain Baking Co. brick by brick from the ground up -- literally.