Restaurants on 72nd? Foster?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
18 replies to this topic

#1 fatpuller

fatpuller
  • Members
  • 49 posts

Posted 27 November 2012 - 09:25 AM

I'm new to the Mt. Scott-Arleta neighborhood and have recently joined the neighborhood association. It's a community really trying to make that area more "livable" (whatever that actually means). I know the stretch of 72nd between Foster and Woodstock has Arleta Library Bakery and Cafe but other than that, we got nothin' (at least as far as I know) for past 2:30 eating. Is there any particular reason this might be the case? Is it just a case of not-yet rather than no way when it comes to a neighborhood like ours when people are thinking of setting up any kind of restaurant? I know the Mercado is set to go in at 72nd and Foster but even a bar with a nice selection and some (even decent) food would be awesome in that strip. Anyhow, I don't even know what I'm trying to figure out. Figured this is a food forum and I want food nearer me.

#2 StMaximo

StMaximo
  • Members
  • 2,536 posts

Posted 27 November 2012 - 11:09 AM

Have you tried Slingshot Lounge

Slingshot Lounge
5532 SE Center (55th & Foster/Center)
445-6649

Divey Bar with pretty good food & drink

#3 mymil

mymil
  • Members
  • 83 posts

Posted 27 November 2012 - 12:25 PM

A couple blocks up Foster from Slingshot, I really like the lemongrass pork banh mi at An Xuyen.

An Xuyen
5345 Southeast Foster
Portland, OR 97206

#4 ExtraMSG

ExtraMSG
  • Admin
  • 18,046 posts
  • Interests:Me like food.

Posted 27 November 2012 - 02:33 PM

I'm not sure why you're so focused on 72nd. It's not really a commercial street like 82nd or Foster. It's more like 50th, a thoroughfare with a few commercial storefronts, but more residential. I live near 72nd and Harold and am within 5 minutes by car of tons of places.